1/144 Build Shaldoll

2014-06-21 12.36.30 (Copy)
Hello and welcome to my entry for my first custom build, the Build Shaldoll.

Preface
So, somewhat obviously, this isn’t going to be a normal review as this is a custom kit. So what brought this about? Well if you’ve just stumbled upon my blog via Google, it would be because on 4chan’s /toy/, we’ve been doing group builds. The most recent was the Gundam Build Fighters group build. To put it simply, you had to combine a GBF backpack with a grunt.

Overview

2014-06-21 12.23.15 (Copy)  
  So what is this? It’s a combination of the HG Shaldoll Rogue, the Build Booster MkII, and the Amazing Booster. Why did I choose this combination? Largely because I liked the way the arms could move on the Build Booster and the weapons that came with the Amazing Booster fit well with what I wanted.
2014-06-21 12.29.27 (Copy)
With that out of the way, building this thing was surprisingly simple. The hardest part was actually attaching the Build Booster to the Shaldoll’s backpack, which I accomplished by expanding the part of the backpack originally meant to hold the Shaldoll’s lone beam saber. After that it was simple puttying and sanding.
2014-06-21 12.32.15 (Copy)
Speaking of sanding, I came to loathe how much of it I had to do on this kit. I understand that’s something necessary when working with putty and making a custom kit, but I was not prepared for what I had to do.
2014-06-21 12.41.34 (Copy) 2014-06-21 12.43.14 (Copy)
Closing Thoughts
So the Build Shaldoll was a fun, if time consuming project. Would I do it again? Probably, but I would want to use an airbrush and not attempt to hand paint and spray can so much of it.

Leave a comment